TODAY | Webinar | Racial Justice and Climate Change | Moody’s & Four Twenty Seven

880

 

INVITATION Webinar

How do climate change and racial justice intersect? There is still time to register to join Four Twenty Seven and Moody’s Sustainability in Focus series for tomorrow’s webinar exploring the ways in which climate change interacts with racial justice issues, placing communities of color at greater risk of adverse impacts from changing climate conditions.

Webinar: Thursday July 30 at 08:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 16:00 BST

Register here

 

| Speakers

Yoon Kim, Managing Director, Global Client Services, Four Twenty Seven

Ram Sri-Saravanapavaan, Lead Analyst, Global Environment, Social & Governance (ESG) and Climate Risk, Moody’s Investors Service

Jesse Keenan, Associate Professor and Social Scientist, School of Architecture, Tulane University

Michael Méndez, Assistant Professor, School of Social Ecology, Department of Urban Planning and Public Policy, University of California, Irvine

The panel will be moderated by Natalie Ambrosio Preudhomme, Director, Communications at Four Twenty Seven.

 

| Key Topics

Provide an overview of the history of environmental injustice in the U.S.

Explore the ways in which disproportionate exposure to climate hazards is connected to this history, how climate change affects access to capital, and the linkages and implications for communities of color

Discuss opportunities for social equity to be integrated into climate adaptation and investment and lending decisions

For more on this subject, read Four Twenty Seven’s recent blogs:

Climate Change and Racial Justice: Exposure – a brief overview of the connection between environmental justice and climate risk exposure in the U.S.

Climate Change and Racial Justice: Adaptation – a discussion of the importance of racial equity in climate adaptation

 

| register here